Welcome!

This is post #1 for The Daily Wort.  What is TDW? For that matter, what the heck is “wort”?

Wort (pronounced “wert”) is unfermented beer.  It’s a sticky, sweet, often bitter concoction.  The Daily Wort is a blog dedicated to beer and brewing.  I’ll be posting about my adventures as a homebrewer; recipes and tutorials on brewing; notes on the world of commercial beer; and maybe even the occasional post about winemaking and the wine industry.

I’m a Portland, OR-based homebrewer with a love of all (well, most…) things fermented.  I’ve been making my own beer for about seven years.  There are a lot of resources out there for homebrewers (as well as those who are simply beer drinkers) but not a lot of cleanly collected information.  I hope I can fill some of that niche, as well as hold your interest with my own stories and experiences.

I expect that at some point this blog will move to it’s own domain, but for now I’ve got too much to write about to wait until I get every detail nailed down.  The perfect is the enemy of the good, and the homebrew world has taught me that the slightly imperfect can still be very, very good.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

